Latest News

Award Win for Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly
Dec 21, 2016 Category: General


The peak Indigenous governance body in western NSW, the Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly (MPRA) was one of two winners in this year’s Indigenous Governance Awards.

Winning in the non-incorporated projects category, the MPRA’s award was collected by its former longstanding chairperson, Sam Jeffries and MPRA member, Des Jones, at the award ceremony in Sydney.

Reconciliation Australia in partnership with BHP Billiton Sustainable Communities, revealed MPRA as the non-incorporated winner at the Indigenous Governance Awards, celebrating the strength of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander-led organisations and projects across Australia.

Chair of the Indigenous Governance Awards, Professor Mick Dodson, who led the judging panel, said Murdi Paaki’s success comes from the fact they’re made up of community members, which gives them power to advocate.

“They show leadership, vision, and fearlessness, and they are practicing self-determination” he said.

Professor Dodson said the caliber of the finalist organisations from which the winners were selected was the most outstanding in the twelve-year history of the Awards.

“This was certainly the highest standard of finalists we’ve ever had. They’ve all got the administrative nuts and bolts of good governance in order and are taking innovative approaches to community leadership.

“Across the board, we have seen the governance of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander-led organisations improve exponentially and these finalists could teach non-Indigenous organisations many things about innovation and success” Professor Dodson said.

Maari Ma Health Aboriginal Corporation Chief Executive Officer, Bob Davis said he was not surprised that the judging panel selected the MPRA as a winner.

“The Regional Assembly has gone from strength to strength in recent times.

“This has obviously been recognised by both State and Commonwealth Governments in their support of the Assembly and the important work that is being done across the Murdi Paaki region.

“Maari Ma has been pleased to be able to support the Assembly as its secretariat and auspice.

The Assembly’s regional plan is a blue print for economic development and Aboriginal empowerment across the west and far west, and this award is well deserved recognition for the leadership shown by the Assembly and its members.

“Congratulations are due to all of the Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly members and the 16 communities they represent across western NSW.” Mr Davis said.

21st December 2016
Available for Interview
Chair MPRA, Alistair Ferguson
Tel: 0488 352 130