About Us

Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly (MPRA) is the peak representative structure that represents the interest of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in 16 communities across Western NSW.

MPRA and its membership of Community Working Parties, CWPs, form the governance framework that provides strategic engagement and co-ordination from Australian and NSW Governments and service providers for the delivery of services and programs against priorities determined by Aboriginal people through a comprehensive planning process. After some years of activity, membership was extended to include 4 Young Leader representatives who change from time to time and representatives from the 3 zone Land Council representatives covered by the Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly area.

MPRA's governance model promotes the practice of good governance, responsible leadership and empowerment, this is a legacy of the former Murdi Paaki ATSIC Regional Council.

"Community and Regional Governance
are the tools that hand responsibility to us."

MPRA Independent Chairperson

Grace Gordon, Brewarrina CWP,  Interim MPRA Chairperson.
The MPRA are currently recruiting for an MPRA Indipendent Chairperson.
Information on this position can be found under the vacant Positions tab.