

## Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly

Chairperson: William (Sam) Jeffries P.O. Box 232

Brewarrina NSW 2839

Ph: (02) 6839 1800 Mob: 0428 235590 Fax. (02) 6839

1855

## PRESS RELEASE

## Governance and Leadership recognised in the Murdi Paaki

After some two years of negotiations, the Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly (MPRA) of Western NSW will today sign an historic agreement with the Australian and NSW Governments.

It's the first Regional Partnership Agreement (RPA) in NSW to be signed and has been made possible by the co-operation of the Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly, the Australian and NSW Governments.

Chairperson of MPRA Sam Jeffries said "I am very pleased with this momentous occasion of the signing of today's agreement; it marks a significant historical chapter in the socio-economic development, and community participation of Aboriginal people in Western NSW"

"This agreement recognises the aspiring leadership, not just of the Regional Assembly and Community Working Parties, but also that of the young people, young leaders participating in the Murdi Paaki Aboriginal Young Leaders project" Mr Jeffries said

"The RPA and its recognition of the governance model in the Murdi Paaki region, is a significant and necessary step forward in making its contribution to the establishment process of the rebuilding of a new national body" Mr Jeffries said

"The MPRA fully acknowledges the persistence by members of the MPRA and key government agency staff in bringing to realisation, a partnership between Aboriginal people and government, but also the influences and support of Minister's, Jenny Macklin and Paul Lynch"

"This agreement further cements the relationship between Aboriginal people and government - that strengthening will continue to bring new and existing benefits in a much more co-ordinated and collaborative approach"

"As always in Aboriginal communities, there is so much to be done, we are keen to get underway with the implementation, recognising that the agreement is a work in progress, we are still developing new material to add to the existing schedules as we move forward" Mr Jeffries said.

BourkeBrewarrina/NgembaBroken HillCobarCollarenebriCoonamble/Wan-Gali Dareton/WentworthEnngoniaGoodoogaGulargamboneIvanhoeLightning RidgeMenindeeWalgett/GamiloroiWeilmoringleWilcannia



## **Murdi Paaki Regional Assembly**

Chairperson: William (Sam) Jeffries P.O. Box 232

Brewarrina NSW 2839 Ph: (02) 6839 1800 Mob: 0428 235590 Fax. (02) 6839

Media enquiries Sam Jeffries 0428235590

Bourke Collarenebri Goodooga Menindee

Brewarrina/Ngemba Broken Hill Coonamble/Wan-GaliDareton/Wentworth Enngonia Gulargambone Ivanhoe Walgett/Gamiloroi Weilmoringle

Cobar Lightning Ridge Wilcannia